Webinar

The future of Python

By Austin Bingham

Thursday, June 11, 2020

10 a.m. PDT | 11 a.m. MDT | 12 p.m. CDT | 1 p.m. EDT

Python’s rise in popularity has been steady and dramatic over the last 10 years, and developers are constantly finding new ways to use this general purpose programming language. 

This widespread use means that Python isn’t going anywhere any time soon—and it also means Python’s weaknesses are regularly brought into focus, creating a chance for other technologies to improve upon Python’s shortcomings and for Python to meet market needs. 

Join Python expert Austin Bingham for a live event where he’ll take a look at what we can anticipate from Python in the next few years, and learn why:

  • Python has been displaced in some areas
  • It’s a good time for Python to consider some of its well-known weaknesses 
  • The overall rate of change in the core of Python will stay low
  • The tooling around Python development will stabilize and improve, and we’ll start to recognize and settle on new best-practices

About the author

Austin is a founding director of Sixty North, a software consulting, training and application development company. A native of Texas, Austin moved to Stavanger, Norway in 2008, where he helped develop industry-leading oil reservoir modeling software in C++ and Python. Prior to that he worked at National Instruments developing LabVIEW, at Applied Research Labs (Univ. of Texas at Austin) developing sonar systems for the U.S. Navy, and at a number of telecommunications companies. He is an experienced presenter and teacher, having spoken at a number of conferences, software groups, and internal corporate venues. Austin is also an active member of the open source community, contributing regularly to various Python and Emacs projects, and he's the founder of Stavanger Software Developers, one of the largest and most active social software groups in Stavanger. Austin holds a Master of Science in Computer Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

 

Save your seat now!

Loading form...

If this message remains, it may be due to cookies being disabled or to an ad blocker.