Simple play icon Course

Security Compliance: CMMC

by Bobby Rogers

The US Government has imposed new requirements on contractors who process Controlled Unclassified Information. This course teaches you the critical knowledge you need to understand and implement the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC).

What you'll learn

Over the past several years, damaging breaches of government data in defense contractor systems have resulted in the unauthorized disclosure of a wide range of sensitive information. In this course, Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC): First Look, you’ll gain fundamental knowledge about the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) requirement recently levied by the U.S. Government on its defense contractors, to protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). First, you’ll explore what the CMMC is, and why it was created. Next, you’ll discover the key US Government regulations involved with imposing the CMMC on Department of Defense contractors, including the Defense Federal Acquisition Regulations, as well as the NIST Special Publication 800-171 series. You’ll understand the structure of the CMMC model, to include its domains, capabilities, processes, and practices. Finally, you’ll learn about the 5 Levels of the CMMC Maturity Model. When you’re finished with this course, you’ll understand how the CMMC will apply to the various scenarios in which defense contractors may be situated.

About the author

Bobby E. Rogers is an information security engineer working as a contractor for Department of Defense agencies, helping to secure, certify, and accredit their information systems. His duties include information system security engineering, risk management, and certification and accreditation efforts. He retired after 21 years in the U.S. Air Force, serving as a network security engineer and instructor, and has secured networks all over the world. Bobby has a master’s degree in information assura... more

Ready to upskill? Get started