Simple play icon Course

PCI DSS: Detection, Assurance, and Management

by Jacob Ansari and John Elliott

Requirements 10, 11, & 12 of PCI DSS version 3.2.1 are to monitor & test networks, and to maintain an information security policy. Understand what each requirement asks for and discover practical guidance from experienced PCI assessors.

What you'll learn

The key to achieving PCI DSS compliance is a thorough knowledge of each of the sub-requirements and how they'll be assessed. In this course, PCI DSS: Detection, Assurance, and Management, you’ll learn how to interpret PCI DSS requirements 10, 11, & 12, and apply them to your network. First, you’ll learn the how PCI DSS wants access to network resources and cardholder data to be tracked and monitored. Next, you’ll explore the requirement to regularly test security systems and processes. You’ll also see the final requirement in PCI DSS which is to maintain a policy that addresses information security for all personnel. Finally, you’ll discover practical insights about all three requirements from experienced PCI assessors. When you’ve finished with this course you'll have the skills and knowledge to apply PCI DSS requirements 3, 4, 5, & 6 to an organization’s environment and to determine whether they are compliant with the demands of the standard.

Table of contents

Course Overview

About the authors

Jacob Ansari worked on Pluralsight courses that cover the topic of PCI DSS Standards.

John Elliott is a specialist in regulated security and data protection. His fascination is the way that people engage with security directives: whether that’s a company following external regulation, an information security team developing policies, an IT team following them, or a colleague who is just trying to do their job securely. John has led information security and data protection functions in aviation and financial services. He’s represented both Visa Europe and Mastercard on the PCI S... more

Ready to upskill? Get started